Suspiria – Film (1977)

7.4!? Out of 10… Really? Well, yes it seems so according to the online movie Bible that is IMDb: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0076786/. Directed by the master of Giallo Dario Argento.

Personally, I couldn’t see what all the fuss was about to be honest. Maybe it’s because the film is now over 30 years old and I expect something slightly less hammy, less cheesy, bit more polished. It did remind me of those ‘classic’ Hammer Horror films with Christopher Lee in terms of the strangely bad acting and thick, oozy, bright red blood. Of course, I may have missed the point altogether and that it was ahead of its time. Having said all that I was intrigued enough to watch it all the way through from the initial and quite sudden, graphic death scene through to the somewhat abrupt ending.

Suspiria definitely has ballet in it.

Suspiria definitely has ballet in it.

It did have some creepy parts, it was sinister in nature; the old woman was menacing and there was a strange air of 1970s weirdness about it. Was it scary…? Not really but hey what do I know. You’ve always got to watch the classics, right?

4 thoughts on “Suspiria – Film (1977)

  1. My big secret (I never thought it was so great). People used to rave about Argento’s use of color but I thought it was gaudy and displeasing to the eye. I also thought the film fell short in the story-telling dept. For italian directors I much prefer Mario Bava – but not all of his works are good either.

    • I know what you mean; the use of colour seem very dated now, kind of like watching old television programmes from the 70s where it’s all slightly brown and fuzzy. I can understand that when it was made the use of colour was unique and ‘brave’ (or shocking). But in the same way that the use of blood in the old Hammer horror films now it just seems cheap.

      I don’t think though that the use of blood or gore needs to be sickly realistic or shocking like Saw or Hostel it should be more visceral, more painful like in The Children. Where you care about the characters, feel their pain and are shocked when shocking things happen.

      We watched Rosemary’s Baby last week (review to follow soon!) and that surprised me for an old film as it had tension and shock and genuine uncomfortable, claustrophobia about it.

  2. Don’t know if you’ve seen it already but if you get a chance, seek out Black Sabbath by Mario Bava. Its dated and not really scary by today’s standards but his use of color is fantastic (esp. in the 2nd and 3rd stories). The film is an anthology of a few horror tales and the middle one does have a real creepy factor. I know what your saying about Rosemary’s Baby. Some films can still feel potent beyond their time, but most don’t 🙂

Leave a Reply

